Care and what does is mean?

Care Definition:

The provision of what is necessary for the health, welfare, maintenance, and protection of someone or something:the care of the elderly, the child is in the care of her grandparents healthcare

 

For me care is about enabling, supporting, reassuring and protecting people. I know there are lots of amazing carers out there who do a tireless job (some not even seeing it as a job).

My mother cares for my father she puts all her energy and love into ensuring they have a good life together enabling and supporting him to enjoy every aspect of life by making their time together full of experiences.She values every moment she has and never ever looks back.

I have 2 friends who care for their boys who have difficulties and do it with warm hearts and open minds, not expecting the world to see them  but I see them both, their time is filled with caring for these boys who need their full attention but never do they regret being there for them or regret having them just as they are.

Me well my job was to care, within the care sector supporting individuals with Learning disabilities to fulfil what they needed or wanted within their lives, not always positive moments (at times a little shocking) but mainly moments that will stay with me, moments of achievement and rewards, moments of sadness and joy, moments that would make your hair curl but never ever did I regret my choice of career. I actually used to love my job even though it was full on and there was a lot of battles that I tried to fight on their behalf (some we won as a team).  What I worry about is that now in the job I do I don’t see many people who have the same ethos or compassion about supporting people out there who are vulnerable, yes there are some who are out there who love their job and doing amazingly but surely this should not be a few it should be most.

So I ask you what is care to you and how can we nurture new carers to give the BEST they can to people who need our BEST. Is it about qualification as I don’t think it is.

 

One thought on “Care and what does is mean?

Leave a Reply

