Professor Winston is really all that.

Wow! what a great day today I have had at work, well not exactly at work, at a conference with an amazing guest Professor Winston. He was simply brilliant, inspiring and just simply engaging. What he had to say about health care was spot on and that there is a way to go to get it right and we can not really plan to what will happen. Yes people are living longer and therefore more care is going to be required. One of the most heart wrenching but comforting things he shared was that there is proof that someone who maybe in a coma or lost due to another condition can seemingly hear you. So those words you say have to be caring, loving, nurturing and encouraging when talking to someone who is silent.

So as I see it, time is now to get care right, to improve care for all, to nurture potential that is out there and value the people who are caring and supporting our most very vulnerable people (our loved ones). Yes! I hear the cry there are many carers who do an amazing job but why are you not telling people about it and sharing these good news stories. The requirements need to be changed to not have people just relevantly trained we need people properly trained, from 16 onwards to provide care. Soft skills (how to communicate, how to work as team and what values are) are just as important as knowing how to administer medication for one example. I am not saying you need a degree but I am saying you need some formal training to support people. You need to show you can support someone in a way they want to be cared for or supported. Lets hear peoples needs and lets observe what they want.

The other day I wrote a poem but after today I changed it. I hope it resonates with people (I am not a poet or writer so please bare with).

Please see me

When you look at me

What do you see?

When you talk to me

What do you hear?

Can you see me?

Can you hear me?

All I ask is,

See me

Hear me

Don’t ignore me

Know that what you say I can hear

I maybe silent but I am here.

I am not who I was

I am not who I thought I was

I am lost

I am hidden

So I ask you

Please look at me

Please see me

Please talk to me

I wish I could answer.

Please listen hard

Please seek me out, I am here.

Please see past my silence

See past the shell

See me for who I was and not just who I am now.

One thought on “Professor Winston is really all that.

Leave a Reply

